Whoopsie Wednesday

For my third 52 Week project, crazy I know, I am stepping outside of my perfectionist zone and creating art out of mistakes or spills.

My husband and I went out to dinner with my sister and nephew at IHOP to celebrate her birthday. While there I preformed my Woopsie Wednesday after finishing my delicious pancakes. My husband spilled various pancake syrups on my empty plate and this is what I created:

I hope to have fun with this one. When was the last time you created something out of a mess?

Be Inspired. Live Boldly.

3 responses

  1. K8Meier

    That’s so funny because earlier this week I made a bad painting – on purpose – just to give myself permission to fail. Sometimes my own perfectionistic tenancies keep me from painting at all because I’m afraid of failing, running out of time, or (*gasp*) wasting a canvas. I made a quick series of 3 paintings with a palette knife and REALLY enjoyed the process. I use a lot of colors and broke every rule I learned in art school about color mixing. I made an absolute mess, but it was so exciting. I named the three paintings “Joyfulling, Play, and Permission.” πŸ™‚ You can completely tell which is which. It was so delicious to just scrape huge globs of paint and dribble oil and turp on the canvas. I never like throwing away paint, so I used every last bit of what was left on my palette to create “permission.” It’s not pretty at all and I love it. πŸ™‚

    January 13, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    • I hope to get a chance to see these! I like looking at the brush strokes of your paintings, they are so neat!! I love love love the word permission. I may make that my word this year. It has so much value! I’ve held back it seems my entire life, and I’m just now really hearing my inner voice, now I just need to give myself the permission to follow it. Thank you!!

      January 16, 2011 at 9:56 pm

  2. πŸ™‚ I’ve really been enjoying your blog. You sort of inspired me to finally get ours up and running. (I bought the domain over a year ago.) It’s fairly direction-less and personal, but it’s something I’ve been wanting to do! http://www.riesls.com

    January 17, 2011 at 3:51 pm

Leave a Reply

